Houzz Reviews of Skip Phillips, SWD Master


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Ronald Wilson Architects
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: October 2017
Project Price: more than $100,000

Skip and I have worked together on a variety of commercial and residential projects. He is the best in the business.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Dean Meredith Architecture
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: March 2015

As an architect, I can really appreciate the creativity and innate talent of Skip Phillips. I have used Skip many times on my projects, and his design vision is unequaled by anyone. Water is his palette, and imagination is his paintbrush. Skip and Questar Pools is always my first choice for my clients.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Erik Borgeson
Relationship: Client
Project Date: August 2007
Project Price: more than $100,000

Questar pools, and specifically Skip Phillips, designed the backyard pool for my previous residence. Skips professionalism and design vision were more than I could have ever hoped for. He was able to easily communicate his vision for our yard - explaining important concepts to us such as water levels, color and reflections, prime sitting areas, water flow rates, etc... As a novice, this information was extremely helpful. Most importantly, the end result was a beautiful pool/spa/BBQ that we enjoyed for many years. When we later listed our home for sale we had multiple buyers - all of which talked about how beautiful our backyard was. I would highly recommend using Questar pools for any of your yard/pool/spa design needs.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Teresa and Bob Salkin
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2017
Project Price: $50,000

In 2000 we decided to build a pool, interviewed Skip of Questar and went with another company. Big mistake! Construction was not fun, our water feature wall leaked and the pool company went out of business. Fast forward 17 years: we again called Skip and he agreed to help redesign the project. Skip is a gifted designer: he knows pools inside and out having built them for over 35 years; he is calm, organized, listens to his clients and advises when it's really important. In our case, Skip was willing to help put contractors together with us and walk us through every step of the way. This process, the design and outcome, has been a real joy. We're so happy we had a chance to make up for our first mistake! No one is finer in this industry than Skip Phillips.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Cameron Tapp
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: July 2015
Project Price: more than $100,000

Working with Skip and his staff is always a pleasure. They are professional and extremely knowledgeable on all topics related to water features. I would not hesitate to use Skip and team for all my future projects.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Chuck Woolstenhulme
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: July 2001
Project Price: more than $100,000

I have worked with Skip and Questar Pools on a number of projects dating back to 2001, and have always been impressed by the vision and originality that Skip brings to his designs. Beyond the design aspect, Skip is always eager to identify the latest innovations in materials and equipment to provide his customers with a truly outstanding finished product.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

ecocentrix landscape architecture
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: January 2013
Project Price: more than $100,000

As owner of a Landscape Architecture firm, I have been working with Questar Pools for over a decade on the pools/spas/waterfeatures we've collaboratively designed for our custom residential Clients. We've never dreamed so big as when we've worked with Skip and Greg, both helping us to manifest the "unreal" and "intangible" in our design-work. Our Clients are thrilled with the results of our combined efforts, as we are - when able to deliver Luxury High-end results to all. What is particularly comforting to our Clients is that they know that they not only can trust in the competency of the hydraulics engineering by Questar Pools above any other, but that they also will have a designed system that when competitively bid by selected builders will be "apples to apples" leaving nothing for interpretation. We look forward to a great many more successful project outcomes! John Feldman - Principal Ecocentrix Landscape Architecture


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Joan Roca
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: July 2008
Project Price: more than $100,000

Skip is a Master in design of any kind of Water Shapes. His work is outstanding. He has a high level of detail in his work.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

tom schoendienst
Relationship: Other

Looking back on my career, Skip has not only pushed the envelope but managed the product performance with clients expectations. Always a professional, Skip brings a refreshing and unique view to even the smallest of detail. . . It’s a pleasure working with skip.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Rock Solid Tile, Inc.
Relationship: Colleague

I have worked with Skip Phillips on numerous projects over the years. In addition to being the icon in our industry that he is, his talent, creativity, foresight and gentle soul are just a few of the things for me that make Mr. Phillips such a pleasure to be associated with.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Bryon Cook
Relationship: Client
Project Date: July 2017
Project Price: more than $100,000

Skip designed an amazing pool on a very challenging lot. He was able to take my requests and turn it into my dream pool while helping to educate me on the design choices as we went. He is the most knowledgeable pool designer in the business (my family was in the pool industry for over 10 years). His technical knowledge, evaluation of my lot, and considerations to ensure the pool is structurally sound is unparalleled. Not only does he understand the intricate engineering required to develop a vanishing edge pool design, he was able to provide aesthetic recommendations that I didn't even consider which raised the bar on this project. He was also able to help me coordinate the pool builder and aid in the material selection for the pool. I had discussed the project with several pool designers and no one came close to Skip's ability to develop my dream pool. It is well worth the money to get your pool professionally designed by Skip.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

River Pools
Relationship: Client
Project Date: January 2017
Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999

Skip is not only among the most influential watershape designers in the world, he's also a wonderful human being. Rarely have I found one who is so willing to share his skills, knowledge, and gifts for the benefit of others. Skip and the entire team at Questar Pools set the standard in the industry for quality, professionalism, and artisanship. If you are a homeowner looking for a cutting edge design, look no further. If you are a pool builder in need of assistance developing plans for a project, as I was, you will not only walk away with an incredibly detailed set of plans, but also with a capacity to perform at a higher level.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Scott McKenna
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: May 2015
Project Price: $10,000

- $49,999 I have worked with Skip Phillips and Questar Pools for more than 20 years. Skip is the ultimate professional. He is smart, honest and incredibly artistic. I am constantly amazed by the things that he comes up with and the depth of his knowledge, he is well versed in color and design as well as structure and engineering. I know a lot of people in the industry and Skip is the one I chose to do the design for my house.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Jim DiMatteo
Relationship: Client
Project Date: January 2017
Project Price: more than $100,000

I cannot say enough good things about my positive experience with Questar Pools. I was putting in a pool and a casita and originally hired a landscape architect who did a great job with the design of the yard and casita but the pool was average at best. I then tried to get a pool company to help design the pool and that did not work. I eventually found Skip Phillips and Questar Pools and they proceeded to design a beautiful pool and worked with us to really create exactly what we wanted. The were affordable, responsive and professional and are highly respected in the industry. We then had Mission Pools build the pool and they also did a wonderful job. We love our pool and think the design and construction team did an excellent job. I would, without hesitation, endorse and recommend Skip Phillips and his team at Questar Pools for any project you are considering.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Mission Pools Inc.
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: April 2012
Project Price: more than $100,000

My company has had the pleasure of bringing a number of Skip's designs to life. His designs challenge construction expertise and are unique and rewarding. I would highly recommend his services for anyone shopping for the best in residential aquatic designs.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

martina lorey
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: December 2016
Project Price: more than $100,000

Queststar delivers the highest level of pool design, their attention to detail is impeccable, as well as, Skip and Greg have a tremendous amount of technical expertise in high end luxury pool design and construction.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Fluid Dynamics Pool and Spa Inc.
Relationship: Client
Project Date: January 2015
Project Price: more than $100,000

I have had the privilege of working with Skip and the team at Questar Pools on many occasions over the years. Skip's innovative approach to design and creative design solutions always surpass my expectations. I thoroughly enjoy working with the entire Questar team perfecting Skip's designs, and the end results are not only stunningly beautiful, but they are always functionally optimized as well. I have recommended Questar pools to many clients in the past, and the results are always the same - everyone has always been thoroughly satisfied.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Michael Nantz
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: January 1998

My history with Skip at Questar dates back some 20 years. I have known him to be at the forefront of our industry ever since. His knowledge and expertise is extensive and he is high on my list of go-to resources, I value his opinion greatly.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

La Jolla Pools
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: July 2017
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

Skip Phillips is absolutely the best in the pool industry, no question. His designs are world class and his knowledge of vanishing edge and water-in-transit pools is second to none. I refer my clients to Questar all of the time. They've always had a positive experience with Skip and his designs. He's always available to answer questions and to provide us construction details. There simply is no better choice of someone to help you design an exterior living space.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Covertech Pool
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: March 2011 Recommend Questar

We work with Questar Pools, Skip Phillips and Greg Boruff, on a very complicated pool in San Diego and San Francisco. Both pools were all tile pools with vanishing edges and Lautner edges. We had to implant our Covertech pool cover onto their projects. Both jobs ended with a success and very happy clients. We would work with Questar Pools anytime again. Torsten Heincke Covertech - Southampton


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Creative Environments
Relationship: Colleague

Through out my 62 year career in the swimming pool industry I have met, worked with and trained with many a pool builders. Skip Philips of Questar Pools is by far head and shoulders above those that consider themselves to be Pool Professionals. Skip was one of the very first in our industry to recognize the importance of "raising the bar" in all levels of designing and construction of swimming pools when he and two like minded builders created Genesis 3 to teach and train fellow builders like me to be the very best that we can be. I have trained with and shared design ideas over the years with Skip and have found him to be very generous with his time and talents. I consider him to be the very best of the best of Professional Pool Builders. Besides being an honest and genuine person, Skip and a few close friends, have helped transform swimming pool design and construction to what it is today, Aqua Art and Water Crafting..... Thank you Skip Philips for all that you have done for our industry, you have truly taken us to the next level.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

Mark Blackwell
Relationship: Client
Project Date: March 2015
Project Price: more than $100,000

Skip and his Team provided an excellent experience through the design and execution of our pool and complete backyard remodel. He provided world-class vision in the design, but was also realistic in coming up with a design and work plan that was practical, and patient with me working with other suppliers on the outdoor kitchen and other important elements.


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Review on Houzz

William Drakeley
Relationship: Industry Colleague
Project Date: November 2010
Project Price: more than $100,000

Skip Phillips is just smarter than everybody else. His teachings, designs, collaborations and projects always create new bench marks in the water shape industry. These lofty standards keep the rest of us constantly in catch up mode. Plenty of great industry professionals in our business. Skip Phillips sets the bar for all involved.

Genesis Co Founder